Awarded to the rider with the best average speed improvement at 25 and 50 miles on last year's times. Riders must improve at both distances to qualify. Riders with no previous performances must improve against set standards of 1.06.00 at 25 miles and 2.16.00 at 50 miles for men and 1.10.25 at 25 miles and 2.25.30 at 50 miles for women. Where a rider without a previous time is over 40 years of age the improvement will be judged against their age standard for their age last birthday.

The trophy went missing and a new trophy was kindly donated by Ivan Pratt of the Iron Horse Cyclery.


2021 No award 2022 Caroline Ratcliff
2019 No award 2020 Terry Parvin
2017 No Award 2018 No Award
2015 Howard Heighton 2016 Howard Heighton
2013 No award 2014 Gert Gammelin
2011 No award 2012 No award
2009 Ian Knights 2010 Mathilde Matthijsse
2007 Sharon Wright 2008 Andreas Wolff
2005 Sharon Wright 2006 Phil Lewis
2003 Beverly Fletcher 2004 No award
2001 Mike Hemming 2002 Mark Mather
1999 Tony Monks 2000 Jon Smale