Club Tens

  • Simon Jones: 'There's definitely lessons to be learned' from selection controversy

    On the eve of the women's road race in Bergen the Australian team were keen to put up a united front but Australian high-performance director Simon Jones admitted that he might ‘possibly' carry out his selection process differently if given another opportunity. He also added that there were lessons to be learned after what has been a distraction for him during the build up to the World Championships.

    Jones initially selected just five athletes for the women's Worlds team, deciding not to fill the quota of seven that Australia were entitled to. The decision was met with protests from several quarters and Rachel Neylan and Chloe Hosking – who were left out of the team – successfully appealed the decision.

    Neither Hosking or Neylan were in attendance when the Australian team organised a press conference on Friday evening but Jones pressed home that there was harmony within the squad.


    "They're going to add to the team. They're going to do team roles and they're going to hopefully help the girls contribute to the performance," he said.

    In terms of selection Jones laid out the process and was admitted that there were lessons to be gained from his first outing as performance director at the World Championships.

    "It's a pretty tricky business. Selections are difficult but we try and be as objective as possible and evidence based. It a bit of a different experience for me coming into the Australian system. There's definitely lessons to be learned but I'm here to learn. I want to say I'm tremendously proud to be part of this team and it's history and we'll go forward and we're focussed on the performance."

    Elvin and Spratt lead from the front

    You can

Details of the 2017 Joe Porter Lunch will be published later in the year

More information can be obtained from the Chairman Howard Jones.

We now have club bibtights in medium and large from the Giessegi Performance Collection in stock. £56.00.

07166 T504
TECHNOLOGIES: anatomic, bi-elastic,
breathable, peeling resistance 5/5, upf 50+
(ultraviolet protecting factor).
TEMP: +0°/+13°
STITCHING: 4 needle flat seams.
BRACES: Roubaix.
LEG OPENING: elastic foot loop.

The Ferryhill Wheelers C.C. Annual General Meeting will take place at 8.00pm on Monday December 5th at the Catholic Club Dean Road Ferryhill DL17 8ET.

As you may know club member and all round great lad Gert Gammelin is moving to New Zealand in January. To Give him a send off from the Wheelers we're having a social ride on the 18th December. This date coincides with the annual Holly Run so we're combining the two.
If you would like something to eat at The Countryman Bolam please let Steve Davies know as he usually sorts out this side of things. 09:30 start at the Gretna getting to The Countryman for 12:30
Hopefully we will have a good turnout for a guy who has well supported and represented the club many times during its recent history.

Twenty two riders left from the Gretna on a cold, but dry morning.

Fourteen riders were doing the 100 mile ride and eight riders were doing the 100 km distance.They were joined by another group at Darlington. 

Ray Johnson, Rob Liddell Daniel Simpson and Shaun Wakes came back from the 100 km ride in 4 hours 14 minutes, including a cafe stop at Rootz.

Followed by Derrick Cook and Trevor Corner in 4 hours 36 minutes.

First back on the 100 mile ride was James Alder, Cycleways SG Petch,  in 5 hours 40 minutes followed 15 seconds later by Henry Johnson, Cycleways SG Petch.

Mark Hansom Ferryhill Wheelers was the third rider home in 5 hours 53 minutes.

Other ferryhill riders to complete the course were Gert Gammelin, John Marshall, Gary Taylor and Carl Mustill. Keith Birbeck had ridden down from Sedgefield and turned off at Great Stainton to go back to Sedgefield.


Thanks to everyone who turned out and well done. Hopefully the weather will be as good next year.